Book Review: Carry On By Rainbow Rowell

Carry on - Rainbow Rowell Title: Carry On

 Author: Rainbow Rowell

 Published:  February 25th 2016 by Macmillan

 Pages: 528 pages.

Summary: Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything. (Goodreads)

032016_0649_BookReviewI2.jpg

My initial reaction when Rainbow Rowell announced she’s gonna published the Simon Snow story was Ehhh….ok?

Like I wasn’t 100% excited, unlike the rest of people on Goodreads. Nonetheless, I’m intrigue to read what Rainbow Rowell’s had to offer.

If Twilight and Harry Potter had a child, Carry On would be it. Not really, but ykwim??

This book was told in multiple perspectives but mainly Simon. And I find him really boring and lack of motivation other than obsessing on finding Baz who gone missing. Although later on  we knew why, but still.

I didn’t expect Carry On would be funny because I didn’t know that this was supposed to be a parody of Harry Potter and I appreciate that. Like all the spells that are in this book was from a song, sonnet, nursery songs, a phrase, like literally everything can be a spell as long as you have enough power to cast it. I mean, there’s a possibility you can use “Call Me Maybe” song as a spell?!

She falls asleep in the middle of telling me about a song she’s heard, a song she thinks will be a spell someday, though I can’t think of any use for “Call me Maybe.”

Or when each characters have these family artefact as their own magickal instrument.

Baz has a wand, like me; all the Pitches are wandworkers. But Penny has a ring. And Gareth has a belt buckle. (It’s really inconvenient–he has to thrust his pelvis forward whenever he wants to cast a spell. He seems to think it’s cheeky, but no one else does.)

Can you imagine Gareth in a war?

I wish there was more romance in this book, because Simon and Baz are just really cute together and that’s the only thing that really keep me reading this book to the end.

I will recommend this to anyone who enjoy Harry Potter’s parody with diverse characters.

I gave this book

                                          2.5 hearts

Thanks to  Publisher who provided me with a digital copy via NetGalley in exchange of honest review.

 signature

One thought on “Book Review: Carry On By Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

