Book Review: The Rose & The Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn #2) by Renee Ahdieh

The Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn #2) by Renee AhdiehTitle: The Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn #2)

 Author:  Renee Ahdieh

 Published:  Published April 26th 2016 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

 Pages: 420 pages.

Summary: This is the second book of The Wrath and The Dawn duology. I suggest you read the first book before you read my review 🙂

 

032016_0649_BookReviewI2.jpg

The Rose and The Dagger is even more magical than the first one. Because in this book we got to know a new cool magical creature that I’ve never found in any fantasy book. It’s not like I read so many high fantasy books anyway. Also we got to know more about Khalid’s curse.

I love that Shazi become her own person in this book. She became a strong, independent woman who kicks asses than in the first book. I was worried this will be another damsel in distress situation, but Shazi proved me wrong. She didn’t need Khalid to save the day.

On the other hand, Khalid, there’s not much character development in him. I mean, he could control his anger better than in the first book, obviously. I just can’t pin point it. I just feel like he’s pretty much the same but less angry? I’m sorry if that’s doesn’t make any sense.

The twist and turns of this book are fantastic. I didn’t see any of them coming at all. Like when I thought I was right at something, it would turned to another direction. We usually encounter strong sister dynamic in contemporary books, so this is like a fresh breath of air for me. Also I love that every women in this book are such a bad-asses in their own way. Even when one of them started as a weakling, they overcame their fears.

We got to know new characters from this book. Artan Termuji was one of them. I might be alone in this, but I wished we got to know more about him. There are so much story to tell about him. Particularly, his family. Renee Ahdieh should consider writing a spin-off of him. Just saying.

The romance in this book is not the focus of the story unlike in the first book. I mean, it’s still there but not enough. So I was a lil bit meh. We can still have a story about a powerful woman with heavy romance alongside it, right? No? Just me? Ok then.

I loved this book. But not as much as the first one. The Rose and The Dagger’s plot was a lot slower than The Wrath and The Dawn. Like the first half of the book basically nothing was going on, and there are so much stuff left unexplained.

I gave this book

                   

Leave a Reply

