Mini Reviews #3

Title: The Affair (The Evolution of Sin Trilogy #1) The Affair by Giana Darling

 Author:  Giana Darling

 Published:  Published February 14th 2016 by Giana Darling

 Pages: 170 pages.

Summary: Italian born Giselle Moore is reinventing herself for the second time in her short twenty-four years of life, trading in her bohemian artist’s life in Paris for the grit and glamour of New York City where the family she hasn’t seen in years awaits her. But before beginning her new life, she travels to Cabo San Lucas, Mexico searching for a week of relaxation and reprieve before barreling into her turbulent future.

She never expected to meet the handsome and enigmatic Frenchman Sinclair on the plane and she certainly never would have imagined herself accepting his proposal for a week long, no-strings-attached affair.

031016_1737_BookReviewK2.jpg

Thanks to Publisher who provided me a digital copy via NetGalley!

I’ve never have a problem reading a book about an affair. Especially, a non-married couple. I’m okay with it. But I understand why most of people shy away from it. I have a friend who would never read a book about cheating. I respect that.

My main issue though, the way Giselle referred her vagina as sex totally ruined the whole sexy scenes in this book for me. Which is a big deal in Erotica book. So I often find myself skimmed over the sexy part. :-/ Mrs. Darling’s writing is great, but it just not working in my favor. That’s why I can’t give it full 3 stars.

I like the book as a whole. Especially, after I read an excerpt for the next book, I want to read it like RIGHT NOW. Also I’m happy that I was right about the real identity of The Frenchman even before I read the excerpt 😀

2.75 stars



 

 Title: Paper Girls, Vol. 1

 Author:  Brian K. Vaughan, Cliff Chiang (Illustrator), Matthew Wilson (Illustrator)

 Published:  Published April 5th 2016 by Image Comics

 Pages: 144 pages.

 Summary: In the early hours after Halloween of 1988, four 12-year-old newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. Suburban drama and otherworldly mysteries collide in this smash-hit series about nostalgia, first jobs, and the last days of childhood.

022816_1151_MiniReviews2.jpg

 

Thanks to Publisher for free digital copy in exchange of an honest review!

Eventhou I’m not a big fan of the artworks, the story itself is intriguing! Who would have thought this would be about time-traveler meet Jurassic World story. LOL!

Between those 4 characters, I think I’m relate to Mac more than the other girls. I wish we get to know more about her and the other girl’s backstory.

Can’t wait to read the next volume!!

3 hearts



Title:  I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever After 

 Author:  Skottie Young, Jean-François Beaulieu

 Published:  Published April 20th 2016 by Image Comics

 Pages: 128 pages.

 Summary:  An Adventure Time/Alice in Wonderland-style epic that smashes it’s cute little face against grown-up, Tank Girl/Deadpool-esque violent madness. Follow Gert, a forty year old woman stuck in a six year olds body who has been stuck in the magical world of Fairyland for nearly thirty years. Join her and her giant battle-axe on a delightfully blood soaked journey to see who will survive the girl who HATES FAIRYLAND.

022816_1151_MiniReviews5.jpg

Thanks to the Publisher for free digital copy in exchange of an honest review!

Who would have thought that stuck in a fairyland forever seems like a bad idea? At least that’s what happened to Gertrude. In order to come back to her real home, Gert must find a key to a door that leads her to her world. But it’s been 27 years since she started her adventure to find the key.

The ending kinda easy to guessed. But it doesn’t make me less enjoying it. If anything, I want to read the second volume right this moment 😀

5 hearts

signature

Leave a Reply

