Book Review: Shopaholic to the Rescue (Shopaholic #8) by Sophie Kinsella

Shopaholic to the Rescue (Shopaholic #8) by Sophie Kinsella

 Title: Shopaholic to the Rescue (Shopaholic #8)

 Author:  Sophie Kinsella

 Published:  Published March 10th 2016 by Black Swan (first published October 22nd 2015)

 Pages: 400 pages.

 Summary: Becky’s biggest ever challenge takes her to Las Vegas and beyond in a fast-paced, fun-filled, road-trip adventure. Becky’s gone too far in the past – but now she’s putting things right. She’s determined to track down her missing dad, help her best friend Suze, bond with her worst enemy Alicia Bitch Long-legs (maybe…) and work out how to play blackjack. As she discovers quite how much her friends and family need help, she comes up with a brilliant plan. Becky is going to rescue everyone. But can she rescue herself?

 

REVIEW

The last two books of the shopaholic series were meh.

Instead of writing about Luke and his mother patches things up, Sophie Kinsella decided to write about Becky’s dad no one ever asked for.

Who cares about the drama that happened between her dad and his friends? I’m so not here for that. I feel like this is a spin-off book, because we barely see our main characters [Luke and Becky] in this book.

Nothing really happened between them because the main focus of this book was Becky’s dad friends. The way Graham [Becky’s dad] and Tarki left their wife with no explanation whatsoever was uncalled for. You just can’t leave your wife like that.

I also didn’t like how Becky punishing herself by didn’t let herself to shop ever again. Even when others offer to buy it for her. I feel like I didn’t know this Becky. This is not Becky I used to love. Who is this Becky? You might say, “She’s growing up! This is her character development!” Yes, yes I agreed to that. But this is so drastic. People just don’t change overnight.

Although this book Slightly better than the previous one I must say. My favorite are Suze and Becky’s parts. Made me longing for my broken friendship with someone. How I wish she’s still my 3AM BFF.

I’m surprised that this one particular character become one the hero of this book. I mean, who would have thought??? I didn’t recall they were ever close in the previous book knowing their history.

I wish this was the last time we ever see Rebecca Brandon. Because I don’t think I’m up for another book or two. Give it a rest already.

I gave this book

                         2.5 hearts

signature

Leave a Reply

