Book Review: The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout Title: The Problem with Forever

 Author:  Jennifer L. Armentrout

 Published:  Published May 17th 2016 by Harlequin Teen

 Pages: 480 pages.

 Summary: For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

REVIEW

Jennifer L. Armentrout has become one of my auto-buy author (especially her standalone novels, because for some reason I haven’t read any of her book series). The way she writes is so fast paced that you didn’t realize you have been sitting down reading her book for 4 hours. And that’s exactly what happened when I’m reading The Problem With Forever.

I feel so engrossed in the story that I feel so much for Mallory. Speaking in public sometimes for regular people is already hard enough let alone Mallory who had such a troubled past herself. It makes me want to hold her and protect her from this cruel world. But, protecting someone we love is not enough. Sometimes, we had to let them to protect themselves and face the demon.

And she faced her demon indeed. I cant help but feel proud of her.

Even though I really like this book, there are something that really bothered me about this book. Like the way JLA stereotyping the Puerto Rican characters as some kind of low life human being who do drugs and other illegal stuff. I don’t know why it bothered me so much. Or the fact that Mallory is white and Rider’s brown skin determined how they end up wherever they are now? Maybe that just me, but that stuff has been on my mind ever since I finished the book.

I gave this book

                                         3 hearts

signature

 

Leave a Reply

