Mini Reviews #6

mini-reviews

 

milk-and-honey-by-rupi-kaurTitle: milk and honey

 Author:  Rupi Kaur

 Published:  November 4th 2014 by Createspace

 Pages: 204 pages.

Summary: milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

032016_0649_BookReviewI2.jpg

I’ve never been one to read a poetry.  My pretentious reason is because I don’t see the appeal. When in reality my brain is too small to decipher poetry.

milk and honey is for those who never read poetry like I did.  It’s a fast read and easy to understand.

 I do agree that this felt like “Tumblr-ish” or one of those “Instagramers” who posted artsy pictures with a deep quotes on it. Believe me, I’ll quote some of the poems in this book and post it on my Instagram.

It’s not like groundbreaking or shattered your soul kind of poetry, but I did feel little bit tug to my dead blackened heart.

I gave this book

3.5 hearts


just-kids-by-patti-smith

Title: Just Kids

 Author:  Patti Smith

 Published:  January 19th 2010 by Ecco

 Pages: 304 pages.

Summary: In Just Kids, Patti Smith’s first book of prose, the legendary American artist offers a never-before-seen glimpse of her remarkable relationship with photographer Robert Mapplethorpe in the epochal days of New York City and the Chelsea Hotel in the late sixties and seventies.[Goodreads]

032016_0649_BookReviewI2.jpg

Patti’s relationship with Robert is truly #goals. The love they have for each other, even when they are drifted afar, they still have each other best interest at heart. I love it as far as their relationship goes, but for the rest of the other story, I just don’t feel what other–who could appreciate this book better than I did—might feels.

I gave this book

022816_1151_MiniReviews3.jpg

signature

 

Leave a Reply

